Olympic Ballet

I know I am a few days late on this but if you caught the opening ceremonies of the Olympics in Sochi, Russia you saw the gorgeous ballet dancing that was center of the worlds stage.  I was awestruck by the beauty, grace, and artistry.  What a way to start off the athletic competitions!

Svetlana Zakharova was just effortless in this piece.  I loved the ballroom dancing as well!

I was floored when I saw who was dancing.  I could recognize those banana feet anywhere!

I was floored when I saw who was dancing. I could recognize those banana feet anywhere!

 

Her acting was so superb!  Look at that extension!

Her acting was so superb! Look at that extension!

Diana Vishneva I thought really brought a lot of personality to the “Peace Dove” presentation.  At first, honestly thought it was a little weird.  I was like, “Are they jelly fish?  Look at the squishies!”  As it went on, I got into it and saw it differently.  It was really breathtaking!

Diana Vishneva as Queen Peace Dove

diana 5

Peace doves

Here is a link to see the “Peace Dove” in it’s entirety..

Now excuse me while I will be glued to my TV for the next few weeks while the Olympics are on because I am an Olympic fanatic and I can’t get enough of almost any event!

4 thoughts on “Olympic Ballet

  1. I did a post on this a couple of days ago, I was sooooo baffled by the amount of ballet and ballet-related things in the show. It was gorgeous. And like you said, I too could recognize those banana-feet everywhere!! 😉
    It was really cool seeing Diana perform after I’ve seen her live, it’s just that extra more special 🙂

  2. Pingback: Ballet Boo-Yah! | Back to First Position

I welcome comments! Please leave a reply! Don't forget to "Follow" my blog too!

