Icons from My Past…

I ran across these pins while on Pinterest on the same board and I could hardly believe my eyes…

A Very Young Dancer by Jill Krementz

A Very Young Dancer by Jill Krementz

This book was SO formative for me as a young girl and ballet dancer.  It holds a special place in my heart and childhood. I think I read it 36,852 times before I was 12. How I DREAMED to be Clara in the Nutcracker and to dance with The School of American Ballet. To read a book about a girl who did, and who she danced with, was like a magical real life fairy-tale to me. The book follows Stephanie, a 10 year old student at SAB and it tells of her first-person account of her behind the scenes story of playing Clara in the Nutcracker, from casting to final curtain.  It was published in 1976 and has amazing pictures!  Jill Krementz is a photographer first and foremost, so pictures are the focal point of the book and they do not disappoint.  You will find pictures of Peter Martins, Patricia McBride, David Richardson, Carol Sumner, and last but certainly not least, Mr. Balanchine himself.

For many years I longed to have a copy of this book but could never find one.  About 8 or 9 years ago, I came across a copy of this book at a book sale and about died.  It wasn’t in the greatest of conditions but I couldn’t purchase it fast enough.  It was like I was able to go back in time and purchase a time block from my childhood. Even though I am 38, pulling this book off of my shelf today and looking through it, it brings me back to my 10 year old self still wanting to be Clara.

**Update**  One of my commenters let me know of an article updating about Stephanie from the book and what she’s been up to since the book was released…

On the same user’s Pinterest board was this…

NYCB

NYCB Art by Edward Gorey

This piece by Edward Gorey  was given to me by one of my favorite ballet teachers, Deena Laska (She was an amazing teacher), when I was about 8 or 9. She didn’t have room for it anymore and thought I would like it. Well, YAH!  It’s not a poster but made of a fine terrycloth material on a wooden frame and was about 3 feet wide and 6 feet tall. It was BIG and I loved it. I wonder if it is still in my parents basement? Now and again, I think about it and where I would put it in my house now. It really is a cool piece of ballet “art”.

Maybe these are small things but they were the icons of my childhood.

6 thoughts on “Icons from My Past…

  1. Yes I THINK that poster is still downstairs. Everything else that ever got down there is still somewhere in the old laundry room. I haven’t been down there in years and not able to do so now but next time you come, take a look. You might be able to remove the frame to make it easier to carry. So happy you found that book. Would love to hear from Dina, wherever she is.

    • That would be awesome! The last time I saw it years ago, it was in the old laundry room too. I would love to get it.

      Click on the link on Dina’s name and you can read an article about her. I googled her too and there is a bunch of neat stuff. 🙂

I welcome comments! Please leave a reply! Don't forget to "Follow" my blog too!

