Heavy Hearted

I have been avoiding posting for a few days and making decisions like this one is not easy but necessary.  I even contemplated not writing about this at all but it is a part of my life and in my blogging I include what is part of my ballet life whether it being weight loss, sore muscles, or new leg warmers.  It even includes the tough things that sometimes we don’t like to talk about but must acknowledge and keep moving onward.  I think writing this out will be cathartic for me and to help me better manage the new changes in our lives in the near future.

Friday, my husband was unexpectedly laid off from his employment.  For the past few days we have closed ranks and kissed the wounds and are looking to find ways to keep moving on.  Since things are uncertain at this point, I will have to delay my ballet classes until a point in the future when things are more certain for our family.  My heart breaks at the thought of that but it does not mean I will never get back into the studio but it will not be happening on August 19th.

I will continue to lose weight and workout, that is something I won’t stop doing because the dance classes will happen, hopefully just a few months from now.  So I’ll be in even better shape than I am now and that will be a good thing.  Yes, the blog is continuing on!  I am still as ballet obsessed as ever and I always have lots to say, probably too much!

Things happen for a reason and I have to trust in my faith and that a year from now all of this will be but a memory.  Being a grown up and making grown up decisions sometimes stinks but it must be done. Time to pull up my socks and put on my hat of positivity to help my family move on from this situation the best we can.

happening 6

happening                   happening 2

 

    happening 5   happening 4

happening 7

15 thoughts on “Heavy Hearted

  1. Sudden changes in employment like this are so hard to absorb. So many people are experiencing this in their lives right now. I completely understand. Families must come first, and I see you believe that, too. I’ll be thinking of you and your husband and family every day.

    In the meantime, of course you can continue maintaining the weight loss progress you’ve made thus far. A crisis presents quite a challenge to our personal goals, I think, because the event takes over our lives. I know you can do it, though.

    In time you will get to class. As you said you will be in even better shape, too. Time to get out your ballet DVD’s for home practice!

    You are very brave to write this entry. I think it is so good for us to get things out. Blogs are not just about everything being positive all the time. We all support you here, and your family, too. HUGS!

  2. I’m sorry to hear about this bad news but I’m glad to hear that you are facing it armed with faith and a positive outlook. I will say a prayer for you and your family, if you don’t mind. It’s very brave of you to blog this situation but I’ve found that good things can come from being open and honest and hopefully you will get lots of (((hugs))) and encouragement during this period.

    ~Lorry

  3. This is hard, but as you said, it will pass and make you stronger. Try thinking good thoughts, see yourself slender and dancing in your mind. Even if nothing else happens you will at least be happy during those moments. You can do it! I’m sending you virtual hugs!

  4. I will be praying for you and your husband during this difficult time! It’s ok to be disappointed about delaying classes, but don’t lose heart altogether! And please keep writing this blog! It will help keep your goals fresh in your mind and the adult ballet blogging community will help keep your spirits up as you wait patiently to achieve them. 🙂

    Sending lots of love & prayers!!!

    • Thank you for the prayers! I can use all I can get at the moment. I am more disappointed in delaying the classes than I expected I would feel and I am grateful to have such a wonderful community to provide the encouragement needed to get through this patch.

  5. I am so sorry to hear about this setback. It will pass and soon the delay will just be a new opportunity for you to be excited about starting again. My husband got laid off just as I was going back to work from maternity leave, so I totally understand the stress that it puts you under. I assure you, everything will be okay – it just might take some time. I will be thinking about you and sending good thoughts your way…

  6. Hi Rachael! I’m sorry to hear that you won’t be able to start class this month! I know you were looking forward to it (so was I) !!!!! But I’m so happy that you’re keeping a positive attitude and I know you’re going to get your family through this little rough patch just like you helped me get through mine.

    I know it isn’t the same but you could always give yourself class at home. Just use the kitchen table or counter or something as a barre and just start slow, plies at the barre, stretching, some tendus. If time permits, you could see if any of your local studios offer Work Study. I signed people into class and gave them parking passes in return for free classes. I’m not saying you have to do any of these – just thought I’d share. 🙂

    Please know that we’re here for you! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Dusting Myself Off | Back to First Position

I welcome comments! Please leave a reply! Don't forget to "Follow" my blog too!

