Let’s Get Physical, Physical!

Now that I have your attention, that phrase isn’t what you think it means and no, I can’t sing it like Olivia Newton John…

I am just getting itchy to dance.  I seriously feel like a kid getting all antsy with excitement thinking about Christmas.  Only, my Christmas is in August, in a ballet studio, with no tree or decorations.

The other night I even had a dream I was back in the studio dancing.  I had on my pink tights, long-sleeved black leo, and pointe shoes.  I couldn’t do all of the combinations, but I was out there and dancing!  It felt so good to extend my legs and the pointe shoes were the prettiest shade of pink satin. After I woke up, I realized I must be thinking about dancing too much or reading too many ballet blogs.  I think it must be a combination of both!

So, I realized I needed to start doing some kind of physical fitness to help with getting ready for ballet class.  The Jillian Michaels on my DVD rack just isn’t cutting it.  I want something that feels…dancey!  I scoped out Amazon and found some really great options. Ballet Beautiful: Body Blast and, Xtend Barre: Lean & Chiseled.  I ended up ordering the Xtend Barre video because from its description and reviews will help me with the conditioning I need with the “dancey” feel I want.  I can stream Ballet Beautiful (which was cheaper than its’ DVD equivalent), so when I want to branch out on my workout options, I can!

              

I don’t expect my dance training to come from a video, I am saving that for the dance studio. I was amazed at how many ballet class instructions DVD’s there were…little scary! I am so excited to receive my video , it should arrive by Thursday.  Yay!

I can’t wait to get started and I hope these are some great appetizers.  I’ll let you know how I like them.  If you have any suggestions on what would be a good video or a conditioning activity, I welcome your comments!

2 thoughts on “Let’s Get Physical, Physical!

  1. Haha I know exactly how you feel! The scary part about that is that I already DO ballet 2 times a week!! But still, I can’t get enough of it.. I have looked on YouTube countless times and there are some really nice instructional videos! For turning, positions of legs and arms, arabesques, etc… Some are quite sucky but others are fine 🙂 Good luck with that barre work-out, hope it’s good!

I welcome comments! Please leave a reply! Don't forget to "Follow" my blog too!

