About Me

I am a life long lover of dancing.  I started dancing at the age of 3 until about 13.  I stopped dancing because I had been hit by a car and my body was never the same again.  I was trained in the Russian style of ballet under the tutelage of Anna-Marie Holmes, a very respected and renown teacher and choreographer.  Unfortunately, her company closed down and when I was 10 or 11 and I had to change companies.  My new company was not the same, and disheartened, I stopped dancing after my accident.

Now fast forward 25 years (yikes!) and I am 38 years old.  My heart is just yearning to get back into the dance studio.  I need to get my body into much better shape and nothing out there is appealing to me.  While drumming around on YouTube one day I came across some ballet videos.  My heart leapt and my mind was saying “yes”!  This is the solution.  Do something you will love and it will get you back on the road to fitness.  Now about two years ago I had taken some ballet classes at a local studio and LOVED it.  I check their schedule and they offer classes for adult beginners during the day.  Yay!

Now that I am at the end of the dance year, I am going to wait to start classes until the new year that starts in the fall.  I know summer classes are available but due to demands of childcare and work schedule the summer would not be feasible for classes.  That being said I need to lose some weight and work on my flexibility to prepare for taking classes.  That is something I can do now until August.  So it has actually worked out for the best.

So my purpose of this blog will be to document my journey back into the world of ballet and to be a means of continued motivation over the summer to keep up my plan to be prepared for classes in August.  I also hope to make some blogging friends along the way.  I have read many blogs of others doing what I am and it has been a source of great inspiration.  I hope to inspire too!

point shoes

ballet 004 ballet 001

The above pictures are of me when I was 11 years old doing studio portraits.

2 thoughts on “About Me

  1. Hello! Just checking out your blog for the first time. It’s so funny how small the ballet world is…I studied under Anna-Marie Holmes at Jacob’s Pillow one summer! Haha, good luck with your return to ballet! Like I’ve said in the past, you can take the bunhead out of the ballet, but you can’t take the ballet out of the bunhead! xx
    http://settingthebarreblog.com/

    • How awesome is that you studied under her too!! The ballet world really is small but that is something I enjoy about it. I loved her teaching style so much and maybe one of these days I hope to see her again. She travels so much for teaching and choreography. Thank you so much for checking out my blog. I have really enjoyed reading yours and congratulations on being promoted company member in mid-season! I look forward to what the future holds for you and that your injury heals quickly.

I welcome comments! Please leave a reply! Don't forget to "Follow" my blog too!

